Note permissions are found under settings in your organisation.
Manage Note/Report Templates : This permission allows people to create and manage note/report templates.
Create Notes: This permission allows this role to create notes (from an existing template) on a learner's timeline
You can choose "only if on team" and "all learners" (i.e.all learners in your organisation. If you leave it on "not set" this role will not have the permission to create notes.
By checking “Only Specific Types” you can specify which types of notes the member can create, based on note template labels.
Click the pencil to add note types, and click the X next to a label to give permission to create that type.
Clone Notes: This permission allows members to clone notes on a learner's timeline
You can choose "only if on team" and "all learners" (i.e.all learners in your organisation. If you leave it on "not set" this role will not have the permission to clone notes.
You can further choose if people in this role can clone only their own notes or notes created by anyone within the organization (Anyone's notes).
By checking “Only Specific Types” you can specify which types of notes the member can clone, based on note template labels.
Click the pencil to add note types, and click the X next to a label to give permission to clone that type (see above).
By checking Only Specific States you can specify which note states (unsigned, awaiting approval/revision requested, and/or completed/approved) they can clone.
Edit Notes: This setting gives permission to edit unsigned notes.
You can choose "only if on team" and "all learners" (i.e.all learners in your organisation. If you leave it on "not set" this role will not have the permission to edit notes.
You can further choose if people in this role can edit only their own notes or notes created by anyone within the organization.
If you select Anyone's notes you can further specify which specific note types the member can edit, based on note template labels.
Click the pencil to add note types, and click the X next to a label to give permission to edit that type.
If you select Anyone's notes you can further specify which note states they can edit by checking “Only Specific Types” (unsigned and/or revision requested).
Use Session Note AI: This setting gives permission to use use artificial intelligence to help generate high-quality, objective session narratives.
You can choose "only if on team" and "all learners" (i.e.all learners in your organisation. If you leave it on "not set" this role will not have the permission to use AI.
You can further choose if people in this role can use AI only for their own notes or notes created by anyone within the organization.
If you select Anyone's notes you can further specify for which specific note types the member can use AI, based on note template labels.
Click the pencil to add note types, and click the X next to a label to give permission to use AI.
If you select Anyone's notes you can further specify which note states they can use AI for by checking “Only Specific Types” (unsigned and/or revision requested).
Remove Own Signature/Approval: allows members to remove their signature from notes. Removing the signature unlocks the notes for possible editing.
You can choose "only if on team" and "all learners" (i.e.all learners in your organisation. If you leave it on "not set" this role will not have the permission to remove own signature/approval notes.
You can further choose if people in this role can remove their signature or approval/rejection only from their own notes or notes created by anyone within the organization.
By checking “Only Specific Types” you can specify which types of notes the member can remove their signature or approval/rejection from, based on note template labels.
Click the pencil to add note types, and click the X next to a label to give permission to remove their signature or approval/rejection from that type.
By checking Only Specific States you can specify which note states they can remove their signature or approval/rejection from (Awaiting Approval and/or Completed/Approved).
Remove Signature/Approval of Others: This permission allows members to remove others' signature/approval from notes.
You can choose "only if on team" and "all learners" (i.e.all learners in your organisation. If you leave it on "not set" this role will not have the permission to remove signature/approval of others.
You can further choose if people in this role can remove others' signature or approval/rejection only from their own notes or notes created by anyone within the organization.
By checking “Only Specific Types” you can specify which types of notes the member can remove the signature or approval/rejection of others from, based on note template labels.
Click the pencil to add note types, and click the X next to a label to give permission to remove the signature or approval/rejection of others from that type.
By checking Only Specific States you can specify which note states they can remove the signature or approval/rejection of others from (Awaiting Approval and/or Completed/Approved).
Delete Notes: This permission allows members to delete existing notes from a learner's timeline
You can choose "only if on team" and "all learners" (i.e.all learners in your organisation. If you leave it on "not set" this role will not have the permission to delete notes.
You can further choose if people in this role can delete only their own notes or notes created by anyone within the organization.
By checking “Only Specific Types” you can specify which types of notes the member can delete, based on note template labels.
Click the pencil to add note types, and click the X next to a label to give permission to delete that type.
By checking Only Specific States you can specify which note states (unsigned, awaiting approval/revision requested, and/or completed/approved) they can delete.
View Notes: This permission allows members to view notes on a learner's timeline
You can choose "only if on team" and "all learners" (i.e.all learners in your organisation. If you leave it on "not set" this role will not have the permission to view notes.
You can further choose if people in this role can view only their own notes or notes created by anyone within the organization.
By checking “Only Specific Types” you can specify which types of notes the member can view, based on note template labels.
Click the pencil to add note types, and click the X next to a label to give permission to view that type.
If you select Anyone's notes you can further specify for which note states they can view notes by checking “Only Specific Types” (unsigned, awaiting approval/revision requested, and/or completed/approved).
View Hidden Note Sections: This permission allows members to view hidden note sections
You can choose "only if on team" and "all learners" (i.e.all learners in your organisation. If you leave it on "not set" this role will not have the permission to view hidden note sections.
Approve
Approve (General): Approve or reject notes requiring general approval. This approval is not commonly used. It may be used by BCaBAs or third parties such as OTs or SLPs.
Approve (Client/Parent): Approve or reject notes requiring a client or parent approval (most commonly used if you want parents, clients, or other caregivers to log into their own accounts and approve notes), or collect a 3rd party client/parent "statement" (signature) - this must be turned on if you want your BT/RBTs or clinicians to be able to collect a parent/caregiver signature on session notes.
Approve (Clinical): Approve or reject notes requiring clinical approval. This is commonly used by BCBAs who would like to look over BT/RBT notes.
Approve (Billing): Approve or reject notes requiring billing approval. This is used if an organization wants their billing staff to approve clinical notes.
Approve (Administrative): Approve or reject notes requiring administrative approval. This is used if an organization wants its administrative staff to approve clinical notes. Case examples
Examples
How would I set my note permissions for a caregiver role if I want them to see all notes for their child, but only notes that have been completed, signed, and approved.
2. How would I set my note permissions if I want front-line staff to create only specific types of notes, and only view specific types of notes.
In the below example, RBTs can create only notes with the RBT label, and can view and clone only their own notes. They will not be able to view any other types of notes, which may include BCBA notes or staff feedback notes. In this example, they are also restricted from editing others’ notes, removing approvals from others’ notes, and deleting notes (even their own).
Updated 8/18/2026 by Alexandra Ahlgren






